Stress-cubed - A-level Results Week just happened

A stepping stone to the future

A-level results day - Stress-cubed for families more than the students!

Red background with white cube and heading

I remember my results day like it was yesterday. I was sure I'd failed maths A-level (nobody did Further Maths in those days). I sat in the car while my mum and dad went in. I banged my head, attempting to jump out of the car when I passed. I'd expected to have to go through clearing and do chemistry at Manchester.

The joy of passing and going to University (Glasgow) was terrific. I was so self-absorbed I hadn't realised the impact on the rest of the family. I've never lost that certainty I couldn't have passed, overtaken by sheer joy when the result is good. So the one time I did fail, nobody believed me!

What is my biggest takeaway now? Each step is just a stepping stone to the next stage. If you pass and tick the box, you progress. You may still get through or take a different path if you don't pass. Sometimes that path takes you to your own Utopia. We forget how little of the world we knew at age 18.

Every door we exit is an entry to something else.

If we stay positive and keep learning, we will do well anywhere.

Success is not a job, a house or money. It's a happy family, good friends and contentment. You will be disappointed now if you've had to take a different path. You may even still be trying to find that path.

Some day you'll look back on this as a lucky break - I promise.

Solution Focused Therapy is useful whether you followed your planned path or chose another one. They are both big outcomes. They help you look forward to what you want and what that actually looks like.

Ask successful adults you admire their personal A-level results. They probably can't remember. They are everything around results day and forgotten years later.

Top tip. If you do a higher level course or post, nobody will go back and ask you about your A-levels, They might ask about your Duke of Edinburgh Award. A-levels, nah! Not unless your path pivot was intersting.

So look at the work you put in and the path you are choosing. You are not your A-levels. They are a snapshot with a dose of luck on one day. That is all.

Enjoy whatever comes next!

A reminder that Americans can show their pride in Academia much more than us Brits. I love this idea!

We tend to have a hug, a wee cry, call the family and friends. We probably have a glass of something to velebrate and maybe a takeout or mealk out.

Lots of people describe an anti-climax.

Should we celebrate a bit more 'out there'?

Let me know what you think and any amazing stories of celebration.

Picture of Scottish flag, tampon and period pad with announcement of Scotland launching free period products 15 August 2022

All who need period products in Scotland legally can access free in Scotlland

Scotland is so forward-thinking. The Government may have tried out the Poll Tax there first (dear reader it didn't end well).

They also were the first to ban smoking in pubs. Clean hair after a quiet evening out was beautiful.

The rest of the Uk followed.

Scotland introduced minimum alcohol pricing. 50p per unit which is said to prevent around 2000 lives per year. Wales followed and England may yet follow this same path.

What does the period product legal change mean?

Everything to some of the poorest who missed school or work as they couldn't afford products. Sometimes they had someone controlling their finances who blocked buying the products.

It brings dignity to many. Not everyone will be able to access easily.

Regardless it is game-changing.

Proud to call Scotia my spiritual home.

Picture of adult building with child's blocks

More building blocks for Tourette's TicMastery build

Booked 3 days of courses at Great Ormond Street to learn more from the experts.

Learning how YouTube is a virtual University and keeping resources to share with those who can't access a wrap-around service.

Tourette's Association America has some particularly good YouTube training.

Looking like ready to launch on October 1st. Exciting times.

Fires & Droughts Worldwide - let's act now

A deluge of stories on wildfires, droughts, and crop shortages are making global warming real to many across the world.

It already had been to many in the Developing World. We're all starting to get it now.

This cartoon from This Week really illustrates the situation.

Reflecting now on what I can do as a new business to work sustainably and promote sustainability. I was surprised that I had implemented some of the easier tips already

  • powering down tech overnight (not charging)

  • paperless billing

  • online appointments (where possible)

  • I have a dual-flush toilet (which also has a sink on top which fills the cistern)

What more could I do?

  • green recycling bin in office

  • add plants to the space (I'd need to look at this for a medical space)

  • consider electric moped or scooter

I wanted a red carpet and rail to welcome my amazing patients, then I came across this. Let me know what you think.

Signing-off for this week

Sign-up and join me in this journey